Emma Buckman

Hobbies

I am currently an Art major with a focus in Ceramics at the University of Iowa and I love everything creative. I love to draw, paint, and help others develop their creativity as well. I am undecided with the direction I want to pursue for a career but I am very interested in art education and art therapy. Other than arts and crafts I love to be outside! My parents live on 12 acres of land so growing up I spent a lot of time outside with my dad. I love to go kayaking, walk the creek, ride four wheelers and watch the wildlife.

Courses Taken That Relate Childcare

I am a Junior at the University of Iowa and am very interested in art education. I have recently been considering getting my Masters in Fine Arts to become a high school art teacher. I have taken all of the required classes for childcare several times, as I have experience in a number of direct care positions. I have my Certified Nurses Aide and have CPR and First Aide Training.

Babysitting

I would love to babysit! I am available all day on weekends and most weeknights after 5:30pm. You can call or text me at (515)371-1372.

Childcare Experience

This is my first year working at Shimek BASP. I have previous experience working with children in a daycare in my hometown and babysitting when I was available and home on breaks. This last Summer I worked at a hands on art studio in Des Moines that held weekly summer camps. This allowed me to spend a lot of time doing creative crafts with children of various ages.

Oh, By The Way...

If I am not in the art studio or working there's a good chance you will find me at the dog park with my six month old puppy. Her name is Maisey and she is a beagle. She loves to be outside and meet new people so if you ever see us around feel free to say hello!